Virtual Winter School on Computational Chemistry

Cecam Logo

Organising team

Organising committee     

Rebecca Ingle, University College London, London, UK

Rebecca has been a member of the organising team since 2016 and is the current chair. She is a Lecturer at University College London and her
research involves the development of ultrafast optical and X-ray spectroscopies for studying molecular systems in combination with the application of different computational approaches.

Rika Kobayashi, Australian National University, Australia

Rika has been with the organising team since 2018. She is a computational chemist at Australia's NCI Supercomputer Facility. Her background is in ab initio method development and implementation, especially coupled cluster theory. Her current interests are in Machine Learning and remote collaboration initiatives.

Julianna Oláh, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Julianna has been a member of the organizing team since the first Virtual Winterschool on Computational Chemistry in 2015. She leads the Computational Bioinorganic Chemistry Subgroup at the Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary. She specializes in the modelling of enzymes with a focus on systems relevant to human health. 




Milica Feldt, Leibniz Institute for Catalysis (LIKAT), Germany

Milica joined organising team in 2019. She is currently working as a group leader at the Leibniz institute for catalysis (LIKAT), Rostock, Germany. Her main research interest is computational studies of transition metal catalysis.



Cate Anstöter, University of York, York, UK

Cate joined the organising team in 2021. She has recently finished a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Temple University, Philadelphia, USA and is currently a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the University of York. Her main research interests are electron and light driven chemistry, which she explores through both experimental and computational techniques.

Henrique Castro, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Henrique attends the VWSCC since 2017 and joined the organizing committee in 2021. He is a researcher at Universidade Federal Fluminense (Rio de Janeiro) working with ab initio calculations for molecular magnetism.



Goedele Roos, CNRS UMR 8576, Université de Lille, France

Goedele works as CNRS researcher at the Unité de glycobiologie structurale et fonctionnelle (UGSF, Univ. Lille, France). Together with the precious help of Julianna Olah (Budapest University, Hungary), Andreas Savin (CNRS, UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France) and many others, she founded in 2015 the Winter School initiative. By continuing discussions with the members of the organizing committee, as well as with Andreas Savin and François Colonna (CNRS, UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France) and other people (to name a few: Daniel Borgis, Mark E. Casida, Neepa Maitra and Ajit Thakkar), the initiative further developed and improved. After seven editions of the Winter School, her focus went back to her research activities in the field of computational (redox)biochemistry.





Technical support     

Jurgen Gaeremyn, Belgium

Jurgen is a tech enthusiast with a long standing experience in Joomla and webdesign. As an avid open source advocate, he believes that knowledge should be made accessible wherever possible. For this reason, he stepped into the Winter School project from the very beginning.


Oleg B. Gadzhiev, G.G. Devyatykh Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances, Russia

Oleg joined the Organising committee in 2017 volunteering and organizing in practical and technical aspects. Research interests concentrate but not limit to theoretical treatment of reaction mechanisms by state-of-the art (multireference and novel) quantum chemical methods, molecular (metal-free and metal-organic) catalysts, platinum and platinum-based nanocatalysts for stereo-and regioselective hydrogenation, development of chemical and kinetic models for material design and chemical vapor deposition.


Former members

  • Irina Paci, University of Victoria, Victoria, Canada
  • Ajit Thakkar, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, Canada 

Financial support

  • We thank Leibniz Institute for Catalysis (LIKAT) and CECAM for support.  
  • Social Space is sponsored by Gather.  



Business vector created by macrovector_official -