Virtual Winter School on Computational Chemistry

Cecam Logo

Organising team


Organising committee     

Rebecca Ingle, University College London, London, UK

Rebecca has been a member of the organising team since 2016 and is the current chair. She is a Lecturer at University College London and her
research involves the development of ultrafast optical and X-ray spectroscopies for studying molecular systems in combination with the application of different computational approaches.

Rika Kobayashi, Australian National University, Australia



Julianna Oláh, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Julianna has been a member of the organizing team since the first Virtual Winterschool on Computational Chemistry in 2015. She leads the Computational Bioinorganic Chemistry Subgroup at the Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary. She specializes in the modelling of enzymes with a focus on systems relevant to human health. 




Milica Feldt, Leibniz Institute for Catalysis (LIKAT), Germany

Milica joined organising team in 2019. She is currently working as a group leader at the Leibniz institute for catalysis (LIKAT), Rostock, Germany. Her main research interest is computational studies of transition metal catalysis.



Cate Anstöter, Temple University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Cate joined the organising team in 2021. She has just finished a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Temple University, Philadelphia, USA and will shortly begin a Postdoctoral Research Fellowship at the University of York. Her main research interests are electron and light driven chemistry, which she explores through both experimental and computational techniques.

Henrique Castro, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Henrique attends the VWSCC since 2017 and joined the organizing committee in 2021. He is a researcher at Universidade Federal Fluminense (Rio de Janeiro) working with ab initio calculations for molecular magnetism.




Goedele Roos, CNRS UMR 8576, Université de Lille, France

Goedele works as CNRS researcher at the Unité de glycobiologie structurale et fonctionnelle (UGSF, Univ. Lille, France). Together with the precious help of Julianna Olah (Budapest University, Hungary), Andreas Savin (CNRS, UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France) and many others, she founded in 2015 the Winter School initiative. By continuing discussions with the members of the organizing committee, as well as with Andreas Savin and François Colonna (CNRS, UPMC Sorbonne Universités, France) and other people (to name a few: Daniel Borgis, Mark E. Cassida, Neepa Maitra and Ajit Thakkar), the initiative further developed and improved. After seven editions of the Winter School, her focus went back to her research activities in the field of computational (redox)biochemistry.





Technical support     

Jurgen Gaeremyn, Belgium

Jurgen is a tech enthusiast with a long standing experience in Joomla and webdesign. As an avid open source advocate, he believes that knowledge should be made accessible wherever possible. For this reason, he stepped into the Winter School project from the very beginning.

  Oleg B. Gadzhiev, G.G. Devyatykh Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances, Russia


Former members

  • Irina Paci, University of Victoria, Victoria, Canada
  • Ajit Thakkar, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, Canada 



Business vector created by macrovector_official -